Over & Over

So I’m in New York tasting wines for Wine & Spirits, which, while interesting on many levels, can be rather challenging in that I end up tasting hundreds of wines multiple times. I know, I know–I shouldn’t bitch, and I’m not. In fact, I find the exercise fascinating. But it can definitely wear you out. And for some reason I’ve had Hot Chip’s ‘Over & Over’ in my head all day long. Talk about repetitive stress injury (video below).

Also had the chance to try a wine from my birth year, a 1977 Kurt Darting Durkheimer Spielberg Riesling currently poured by-the-glass at Terroir in New York. The wine was surprisingly brilliant–I had thought it to be an off year, but this bottle was beautiful. Anyway, I’m a huge believer that one should, whenever possible, seek out birth year wines.

*If you’ve had a similar experience with a wine from your birth year, please feel free to share it in the comments.*

And in honor of this round of tastings…

In honor of this round of tastings…

14 thoughts on “Over & Over

  1. I feel your pain. I did a tasting for a German wine magazine last year after a redeye flight that made me really crave a beer and a bratwurst! I drank my first birthyear wine (port) on the day this year and intend to do so every year from now on. I just bought a case of Taylor-Fladgate and am constantly on the lookout for more wines from 77. We should compare notes and maybe share a bottle from our mutual “off year” sometime.

  2. Anthony: Thanks for the note, and always nice to meet a fellow 77er. Port is really the best option for us, but I’ve been fortunate to try a ’77 Pichon Llande that was holding up pretty well. And then there was this Darting, so I’ve got hope yet for good producers in classic regions. Looks like you’re in chicago, so if I’m in the windy city soon, I’ll drop you a line.

    Susan: I haven’t tasted any ’57s but after a quick look through a few books (Coates, Johnson and Parker), the consensus is that 1957 red Bordeaux should be holding up quite well (evidently it was a wet summer and a generally cool, dry harvest, so the wines have a level of acidity which should, in theory at least, have helped them to age well). Auction would be the best place to look–and you’d probably end up with a getting something for a good price, especially compared to current release prices from both France and California. Be sure to ask how the bottle had been stored, and where it has come from (if that info is available). Good luck!

    – wolfgang

  3. Great Post.
    I’ve been told over and over again that my birth year is a really bad one…1980. Lots of rain, high acids, and rot….not such a great mixture.
    So I have not actively sought out any (although I probably should).
    I did have the chance to have a 1980 Chateauneuf du Pape from Clos Mont Olivet which was spectacular. It was a magnum on top of it and boy was it perfect. Sandalwood signature of the domaine, smooth, yet spicy tannins.
    Then by some crazy miracle, I tasted a 1980 Amoureuses from Robert Groffier in the Groffier cellar a couple of years ago. It was still barely kicking. High acidity but still some decent fruit left.
    I’ve been told that Clos de la Roche 1980 was really good, but I’ve never gotten my hands on any.
    I agree with you that Birth-year wines are cool.

  4. Brooklyn Guy, welcome to Spume.

    You know, both places are really good. They’re also quite different–Terroir SF is more retailer than wine bar, while Terroir NY fits a standard model for a wine bar (it reminded me greatly of a place I once worked). You can also eat a full meal at Terroir NY, whereas in SF the food is limited to cheese and paté and rillettes (not that there’s anything wrong with that!).

    – wolfgang

  5. hey wolfgang – i hear such great things about terroir San Fran, i have to get there one day. i didn’t love terroir nyc, but that’s just me.

    and by the way, i’ve been a lurker for a while, takes me a while to get up the gumption to comment.

  6. Was fortunate to be at a dinner at the Arlberg Hospitz with the owner this past winter. This is the place in the Austrian Alps where the infamous Hardy Rodenstock held some of his renowned tasting events. The owner, Florian Werner, was an extremely kind, affable and generous guy. It came out over dinner that all four of us (each of us knew only one other at the table going in) were born in 1966. So Florian pulled an Yquem from that vintage from the hotel’s 12th famed cellars to pour with a traditional Austrian dessert — a giant pancake thing with sugar and fruit. The wine was terrific, the acid still bright, botrytised fruit unfaded. Didn’t taste at all old.

    And Susan, you should make a habit of going to winebid.com on Mondays and searching “1957”. Eventually, there will be something fun to bid on. I’ve found a few lower tier Bordeaux from ’66 for $20-30. I don’t expect they’ll be any good, but it’ll be fun to open them on my birthday.

  7. Gee, and here I thought this was an everyday affair for you, what dinners with Rodenstock, etc. 😉 Kidding….

    Thanks for the comments, and the info about winebid.com.

    – wolfgang

  8. I’ve never had a wine from my birth year: 1965. I’m screwed, apparently. At every winery I’ve ever visited where the question comes up, my answer has been universally greeted with groans. If you know of a hidden gem out there, Wolfgang, please let me know.

  9. Pingback: David Byrne and Brian Eno «

Leave a Reply

