Guilty Pleasures

Circumstances have found me alone at home for most of this week, which means I get to indulge in a few guilty pleasures. Like tonight, for instance, a delicious dinner and a movie–and about half a bottle of wine. Which wine you ask? Well, I looked in the stash and said, screw it, I’m drinking chardonnay. From California. ‘Cause that’s how we roll over here. Or at least sometimes.

* The geekish-minded will be somewhat comforted by the fact that it was a bottle of Navarro’s ’06 Mendocino Chardonnay, so the wine was rather lean by California chardonnay standards, with high acidity and a bright lemony cut to the finish. You know, it was so delicious I might just have another glass, even though, in the manner of certain experiments, I had thought to save this overnight in the fridge.

As for the movie, well, I can’t even pretend to be high minded about that.

I watched:

Hilarious. Although downright filthy. A bit like how I felt when I reached for the chardonnay in fact.

But as funny as Superbad was, in the high-school/coming of age comedy genre, it doesn’t quite compare to Richard Linklater’s 1993 masterpiece, Dazed and Confused:

And now to further indulge in a guilty pleasure, it’s time to play a little Bob Dylan…

Leave a Reply

